New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Luffing after starting
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Luffing after starting

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Mike S View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Mar 13
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mike S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Luffing after starting
    Posted: 09 Sep 13 at 3:26pm
It appeared that in both races 3 and 4 that Oracle gained her overlap on ETNZ from clear astern before the start. Surely, this would mean that she had no rights to sail above her proper course after the start or try to luff ETNZ at the first mark. Am I missing something?





Edited by Mike S - 09 Sep 13 at 3:28pm
Back to Top
Quagers View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 24 Oct 06
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 279
Post Options Post Options   Quote Quagers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 13 at 3:59pm
The Americas cup uses a modified version of the rules which I think includes allowing luffing at any time, similar to the changes made for the world match race series.



< id="adlesse_unifier_magic_element_id" style="display:none;">


Edited by Quagers - 09 Sep 13 at 4:00pm
Back to Top
Mike S View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Mar 13
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 5
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mike S Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 13 at 5:19pm
Thank you. Have now found the America's Cup Edition of the ISAF Rules of Sailing (http://www.cupinfo.com/downloads/ac34-rrsac-1p20-090713.pdf) and see that they have dropped Rule 17 On the Same Tack; Proper Course.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz